Story

V-ZUG Youngsters: the young and wild

Germann, Arnold, Fuchs und Skibba speak of their generation and "Papa" Caminada

1,600 AMUSE-BOUCHES. Fabian Fuchs (“EquiTable”, Zurich) is preparing his snacks for the GaultMillau garden party in an improvised kitchen. The tacos are all lined up and ready. Only the topping is missing. Silvio Germann (“Igniv”, Bad Ragaz) grabs a piping bag and adds the green mixture to the snacks. “Hey, you’re putting far too much puree on!” Fuchs shouts to Germann. “What sort of balance is that?” They both laugh and continue to banter. Together with Marcel Skibba (“Igniv”, St. Moritz) and Markus Arnold (“Steinhalle”, Berne) they are the V-Zug youngsters – the young bad boys among Switzerland’s elite chefs – and at the party of the year they served a total of 1,600 amuse bouches.

RESPECT! While Germann, aged 28, is really still a youngster, 37-year-old Arnold is not feeling quite so youthful: “I had to laugh when the enquiry came from V-Zug. Because at the end of a 12-hour day I really feel quite old.” It’s the same for Fabian Fuchs, 31. “I don’t feel like a youngster in everyday life, but here at the garden party with this team I do.” All four have great respect for star chefs like Philippe Chevrier, Franck Giovannini or Andreas Caminada. “We know what it means to stand in the kitchen all the time. And they’ve been doing that for a long time. But they still have their feet on the ground. Hats off!” says Germann.

PAPA CAMINADA. For Markus Arnold it was a bit like a class reunion. “I worked for Chevrier, and I’ve been out drinking with Caminada”, he reveals. Marcel Skibba adds: “You know the people in the field. I don’t feel intimidated. On the contrary: I feel as if I belong.” Skibba and Germann, with their “Igniv” restaurants, are of course a part of the Caminada family. No wonder they call him “Papa”.

ANOTHER GENERATION. One thing is clear right away: the youngsters think a bit differently than the old guard. The days of the loud, domineering chefs are over. “In my team, fair play is really important”, says Arnold. “Yes, there’s room for criticism, but it’s never personal.” Social media such as Instagram indicate that the star chefs are not just colleagues but also good friends. “That’s really true,” says Fabian Fuchs. “I don’t like jealousy and competition. We do the same work, and the others know what we’re talking about.” This gives rise to lively exchanges. “You’re keen to try out something from someone else, and if it’s cool, you can take inspiration from it”, says Markus Arnold. The result on the plate is then a different one too. “I think we have fewer preconceptions about a dish, we combine ingredients more daringly and the many international influences can be seen on the plate too,” is how Skibba explains the youngsters’ cooking style.

SLEEPLESS NIGHTS. But whether young or old, the youngsters’ amuse bouches at the garden party were the first things the guests tasted. So all four were under a certain amount of pressure. “You tend to put it off a bit, and I’m not used to these quantities. 300 snacks is rather different than 30, and I only slept 1.5 hours from Saturday to Sunday”, Fuchs admits. But they are all convinced that the guests liked the food. “I have enough self-confidence to know that what I send up will taste good”, Arnold says. The enthusiastic guests prove the Bernese chef right.

Here to the film!

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. privacy statement

You are using an outdated browser. Please update your browser to view this website correctly: https://browsehappy.com/

STORY

V-ZUG Youngsters: die jungen Wilden

Germann, Arnold, Fuchs und Skibba über ihre Generation, die alte Garde und Papa Caminada.
1600 AMUSE-BOUCHES. Es ist eine improvisierte Küche, in der Fabian Fuchs («EquiTable», Zürich) seine Häppchen für die GaultMillau Garden Party anrichten muss. Die Tacos liegen bereits in Reih und Glied. Fehlt noch das Topping. Silvio Germann («Igniv», Bad Ragaz) schnappt sich ein Spritzbeutel und verteilt die grüne Masse auf den Häppchen. «Hey, du machst ja mega viel Püree drauf!», schnauzt Fuchs Germann an. «Was ist denn das für eine Balance?» Beide lachen und blödeln weiter. Zusammen mit Marcel Skibba («Igniv», St. Moritz) und Markus Arnold («Steinhalle», Bern) sind sie die V-Zug Youngsters – die jungen Wilden der Schweizer Kochelite – und an der Party des Jahres servierten sie insgesamt 1600 Amuse bouches.

RESPEKT! Während Germann mit seinen 28 Jahren wirklich noch ein Jungspund ist, fühlt sich der 37-jährige Arnold nicht mehr ganz so jugendlich: «Ich musste lachen, als die Anfrage von V-Zug kam. Denn nach einem 12-Stunden-Tag fühle ich mich wirklich recht alt.» Fabian Fuchs, 31, geht es ähnlich. «Im Alltag fühle ich mich gar nicht so als Youngster, hier an der Garden Party bei diesem Aufgebot allerdings schon.» Vor Spitzenköchen wie Philippe Chevrier, Franck Giovannini oder Andreas Caminada haben alle vier Respekt. «Wir wissen ja, was es heisst, immer in der Küche zu stehen. Und die machen das schon so lange. Und trotzdem sind alle so auf dem Boden geblieben. Hut ab!», sagt Germann.

PAPA CAMINADA. Für Markus Arnold war es ein bisschen wie ein Klassentreffen. «Bei Chevrier habe ich gearbeitet, mit Caminada bin ich auch schon versumpft», verrät er. Marcel Skibba ergänzt: «Man kennt ja die Leute aus der Szene. Eingeschüchtert fühle ich mich da nicht. Im Gegenteil: Ich fühle mich, als würde ich dazu gehören.» Skibba und Germann gehören mit ihren «Igniv»-Filialen natürlich fix zur Caminada-Familie. Kein Wunder nennen sie den Chef «Papa».

 
EINE ANDERE GENERATION. Eins fällt sofort auf: Die Youngsters ticken ein bisschen anders als die alte Garde. Die Zeit der dominanten, lauten Chefs ist vorüber. «In meinem Team wird Fairplay gross geschrieben», sagt Arnold. «Klar, hats Platz für Kritik, doch die ist nie persönlich motiviert.» Soziale Medien wie Instagram lassen auch den Schluss nahe, dass die Starchefs nicht nur Kollegen, sondern auch gute Freunde sind. «Das ist wirklich so», sagt Fabian Fuchs. «Neid und Konkurrenzdenken mag ich nicht. Wir machen die gleiche Arbeit, die anderen wissen, wovon man spricht.» So entstehe ein reger Austausch. «Man probiert auch gerne von den anderen, und wenn etwas cool ist, dann lässt man sich auch davon inspirieren», sagt Markus Arnold. Das Resultat auf den Tellern ist denn auch ein anderes. «Ich denke, wir gehen heute viel unbefangener an ein Gericht, wir kombinieren frecher und auch die vielen internationalen Einflüsse finden sich auf dem Teller wieder», erklärt Skibba die Küche der Youngster.

SCHLAFLOSE NÄCHTE. Doch ob jung oder alt, an der Garden Party waren die Amuse-bouches der Youngsters das erste, womit der Gast in Berührung kam. Ein bisschen Druck war bei allen vier gegeben. «Man schiebt das ja immer ein bisschen vor sich her, dann bin ich mir die Menge nicht gewohnt. 300 Häppchen statt 30 ist etwas anderes. Und ich habe nur 1,5 Stunden geschlafen von Samstag auf Sonntag», gesteht Fuchs. Dass es den Gästen schmeckt, davon sind aber alle überzeugt. «Da habe ich genug Selbstvertrauen, um zu wissen, dass das, was ich schicke, auch schmeckt», sagt Arnold. Die begeisterten Gäste geben dem Berner recht.

Hier zum Portrait Film!
ZURÜCK