Umami, delectable, eye-catching, fresh and surprising. If that is the description of a plant-based meal, the chef must be doing an awful lot right. In January 2020, Zineb Hattab opened Restaurant KLE in Zurich, where she is serving a new generation of vegan dishes. She has attracted acclaim and a full house right from the word go.

Hattab was originally a software engineer, but several years ago she started to make a career out of cooking. She immediately signed up for cookery internships with the very best, such as Massimo Bottura in Modena and Andreas Caminada in Schauenstein. She then went to New York, where she worked with Daniela Soto-Innes, who was voted the world’s best female chef in 2019.

And now she’s in Zurich’s district 3. Her decision to cook plant-based food is a pragmatic one: “I’ve recently stopped eating animal products, so there’s no reason for me to cook anything else in my restaurant”.

Having only just embarked upon her vegan journey, she knows that vegan cooking demands some adjustments here and there. We picked up a couple of tips on how to obtain the tastiest results in everyday plant-based cooking.

Don’t be afraid of seasoning: Food does not have to taste predominantly of seasoning, and seasoning does not necessarily make a dish spicy. For example, fennel and coriander are very aromatic without being spicy.

Use nuts as ingredients: Nuts aren’t only for snacking on. Almond pesto, finely grated hazelnuts in salad, and cashew nut cream as the basis for ice cream or tiramisu all enrich plant-based recipes.

Be aware of the seasons: Plants come into their own when they are in season – so it’s essential to learn what is currently growing and consciously make use of these plants.

Incorporate vinegar and oil: There’s a huge choice of oils and vinegars available – they form the basis for dressings for roast vegetables and vegetable kebabs, and also of course for salads.

Add bitter notes: Don’t throw away the peel of citrus fruit, as it adds a lovely bitter quality to recipes.

Have herbs to hand: Herbs are pure freshness and explosions of flavour, so always keep some handy on your balcony or kitchen counter.

 

Information:

www.restaurantkle.com

 

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. privacy statement

You are using an outdated browser. Please update your browser to view this website correctly: https://browsehappy.com/

Umami, Wohlgefühl. Schön fürs Auge. Frisch und überraschend. Wenn das der Beschrieb eines pflanzenbasierten Essens ist, macht die Köchin ganz viel richtig. Zineb Hattab eröffnete im Januar 2020 das Restaurant KLE in Zürich, wo sie eine neue Generation veganer Gerichte serviert. Auf Anhieb erntete sie Applaus und ein volles Haus.

Hattab ist ursprünglich Software-Ingenieurin. Vor einigen Jahren machte sie aber das Kochen zum Beruf. Und heuerte gleich bei den Besten an für Küchen-Praktika, etwa bei Massimo Bottura in Modena oder bei Andreas Caminada in Schauenstein. Danach ging sie nach New York, wo sie unter Daniela Soto-Innes – zur weltbesten Köchin gewählt im Jahr 2019 – arbeitete.

Und nun also Zürich, im Kreis 3. Der Entscheid, pflanzenbasiert zu kochen, ist eigentlich ein ganz pragmatischer: «Ich ernähre mich selber seit kurzem ohne tierische Produkte, da gibt es keinen Grund, in meinem Restaurant anders zu kochen.»

Selber noch nicht lange vegan unterwegs, weiss sie, dass das vegane Kochen da und dort Anpassungen verlangt. Wir liessen uns ein paar Tipps geben, wie man in der pflanzenbasierten Alltagsküche für kulinarischen Hochgenuss sorgt:

Keine Angst vor Gewürzen: Essen muss nicht dominant nach einem Gewürz schmecken und Gewürze machen ein Gericht auch nicht zwingend scharf. Fenchel oder Koriander etwa sind sehr aromatisch, ohne scharf zu sein.

Nüsse als Kochzutat nutzen: Nüsse sind nicht nur zum Snacken da. Mandelpesto, fein geraffelte Haselnüsse im Salat, Cashewnuss-Creme als Basis für Glace oder für Tiramisu bereichern die pflanzenbasierte Küche.

Die Saisons kennen: Pflanzen zeigen ihre Identität am besten, wenn sie Saison haben – also unbedingt lernen, was aktuell wächst und diese Pflanzen bewusst einsetzen.

Essig und Öl einfliessen lassen: Die Vielfalt von Öl und Essig ist immens – sie liefern die Basis für Dressings für geröstete Gemüse und Gemüsespiesse und natürlich auch für Salate.

Bittere Noten setzen: Die Schalen von Zitrusfrüchten nicht wegwerfen, sie bringen schöne Bitterstoffe in Gerichte.

Kräuter vorrätig haben: Kräuter sind pure Frische und Geschmacksexplosionen – darum stets Kräuter auf dem Balkon oder der Küchenablage bereithalten.

 

Informationen:

www.restaurantkle.com

Diese Website verwendet Cookies, um Ihnen die bestmögliche Nutzung unserer Website zu ermöglichen. Datenschutzerklärungen

You are using an outdated browser. Please update your browser to view this website correctly: https://browsehappy.com/