CHEF

Markus Arnold

Markus Arnold is shaking up the restaurant scene in Bern. The chef is breaking with tradition and has created a special place: The Steinhalle is a themed restaurant, café and meeting place all in one. "The culinary trade needs to be more relaxed," says Arnold, and this concise sentence stands for everything that goes on in his restaurant.

The chef is fascinated by Asian cuisine, for example, he raves about "the incredible spiciness of street food in Thailand". But his favourite destination is Japan. He likes the flavour, the famous umami, the love for the product and the care in preparation – everything that characterizes Japanese cuisine. And he wants to transfer this philosophy to his own restaurant.

"With changing themes I can continuously make guests curious, so they may drop by five times a year instead of just twice as in other fine-dining restaurants", Arnold says regarding his concept, which he calls "casual dining".

Website Steinhalle Bern

 

Video
Show video https://lifestyle.vzug.com/en/news/zu-besuch-in-der-steinhalle/

Recipes

BACK

KOCH

Markus Arnold

Markus Arnold mischt die Gastronomie-Szene in Bern auf. Der Koch bricht mit Traditionen und hat einen besonderen Ort geschaffen: Die Steinhalle ist Themenrestaurant, Café und Treffpunkt gleichzeitig. «Gastronomie muss lockerer werden», sagt Arnold bald einmal, und der kurze Satz steht für alles, was in seinem Restaurant passiert.

Die Küche Asiens fasziniert den Koch, er schwärmt beispielsweise von «der unglaublichen Schärfe des Street Foods in Thailand». Aber sein liebstes Reiseziel sei Japan. Er mag den Geschmack, das berühmte Umami, die Liebe zum Produkt und die Sorgfalt bei der Zubereitung – all das zeichne die japanische Küche aus. Und diese Philosophie will er auch auf sein Restaurant übertragen.

«Mit wechselnden Themen kann ich die Gäste immer wieder neugierig machen, so kommen sie vielleicht fünfmal im Jahr vorbei statt nur zweimal wie in anderen Fine-Dining-Restaurants», sagt Arnold über sein Konzept, das er «Casual Dining» nennt.

Webseite Steinhalle Bern

 

Video
Video anzeigen https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lflYeTWC_k&feature=youtu.be

Rezepte

ZURÜCK